Our People

We are a diverse team of researchers, educators, and passionate professionals.

We are a diverse team of researchers, educators, and passionate professionals who have one thing in common — we share the conviction that all children deserve the highest quality education. That’s why, here at HighScope, we spend our days focusing on the variables that allow all children to be their best selves. Each team member brings a unique expertise to supporting and advancing the field of early education.

And together, we are committed to empowering educators and programs with classroom solutions that allow young children to thrive.


Dr. Alejandra Barraza joined HighScope in 2020 as the President and brings a long-time commitment to providing high-quality and equitable early education to all children.

Alejandra Barraza, Ph.D.

President & CEO


Fernando Andrade-Adaniya, Ph.D.

Senior Research Scientist/Methodologist and Co-Director of CEERE

Jeffrey Beal, Ph.D.

Senior Research Scientist and Co-Director of CEERE

Reino Bruner

Data Scientist

Madeline Chimka, Ed.D.

Project Manager

Jill Claxton

Research Associate and Research Assistant Coordinator

Mary Delcamp

Research Assistant II

Beth Hardin

Research Coordinator

Annie Leech

Research Intervention Specialist

Eleanor Martin

Research Intern

Anthony Nielsen

Research Assistant

Applied Practice

Sonja Caprarese

Assessment Advisor

Kimberly Diamond-Berry, Ph.D.

Director of Research Policy & Practice

Shunda Frye

Meal Prep/Support Teacher

Suzanne Gainsley

Early Childhood Applied Practice Manager

Erica Hill

Early Childhood Consultant

Shannon Lockhart

Early Childhood Applied Practice Manager

Marianne McDonnell

Director of International Institutes

Kenneth Sherman

Educational and Professional Development Director

Selina Smith

Administrative Assistant

Regina Tounsel

Assessment Advisor

Sharon Wartley

Preschool Teacher

Business Development

Pamela Malone

Director of Institutional Advancement

James Tabatowski-Bush

Development Assistant

Board of Directors

Jana Martella is the Co-Director for the Center on Enhancing Early Learning Outcomes.

Bonnie Lash Freeman is Senior Training Specialist for the National Center for Family Literacy.

Bonnie Lash Freeman

Vice Chair

Gloria Corral-Terrazas serves as Assistant Executive Director at First 5 San Diego, where she oversees San Diego County’s Quality Early Learning efforts.

Jack Hobaugh joined the HighScope Board of Directors in 2020.

Jack Hobaugh


Dr. Oscar Barbarin is Chair and Professor of the African American Studies Department, University of Maryland, College Park.

Oscar Barbarin, Ph.D.

Board Member

Terry Murphy is a retired senior executive with 29 years of experience in key management roles.

Terry Murphy

Board Member

Dr. Bette Hyde has served as the governor-appointed Director of the Department of Early Learning (DEL) for the state of Washington since 2009.

Dr. Luis A. Perez-Batres is a Professor, Chair of the Department of Management, and Senior Presidential Fellow (2019–2020) at Central Michigan University (CMU).

Dr. Joseph Shepard is the President of Western New Mexico University.

Joseph Shepard, Ph.D.

Board Member

Bryan Stokes II is the Preschool Expansion Policy Director at the Illinois Governor's Office of Early Childhood Development.

Bryan Stokes II

Board Member

Dr. Sue Bredekamp is an early childhood education specialist from Washington, DC.

Sue Bredekamp, Ph.D.

Board Emeritus

Dr. James Hawkins is a retired school superintendent.

James Hawkins, Ph.D.

Board Emeritus

The San Antonio Advisory Sub-Committee

The SAASC provides HighScope Board oversite for the San Antonio Independent School District Public Partnership and complies with the Texas Open Meeting Act. Its members are: Jana Martella, Board Chair; Bonnie Lash Freeman, Vice-Chair; Alejandra Barraza, President; and Iheoma Iruka, Research Professor at UNC.

Meeting Dates — check back at least 72 hours in advance for meeting agendas and access:
• Feb. 24, 2021 at 4:00 p.m. ET | SAASC Open Meeting and Update Agenda | Minutes
• June 23, 2021 at 4:00 p.m. ET | SAASC Open Meeting and Update Agenda | Minutes
• Dec. 15, 2021 at 2:00 p.m. ET

• Feb. 19, 2020 at 4:00 p.m. ET | SAASC Open Meeting and Update Agenda | Minutes
• May 26, 2020 at 4:00-4:45 p.m. ET | SAASC Open Meeting and Update Agenda | Minutes
• Dec. 16, 2020 at 2:30 p.m. ET | SAASC Open Meeting and Update Agenda | Minutes